Which Tailwind are you replacing?
"Tailwind alternatives" covers two different searches, and most lists answer only one of them.
- Tailwind Plus (formerly Tailwind UI), the paid component library. It closed to new customers on September 9, 2026, when Tailwind Labs joined Shopify. If you wanted ready-made Tailwind components, you keep Tailwind CSS and pick a component library built on it.
- Tailwind CSS, the utility-first framework. It stays free and MIT-licensed. If you want to style your project another way, look at other CSS frameworks and engines: some keep the utility-first model, others ship finished components.
The Tailwind alternatives at a glance
Component libraries built on Tailwind CSS
- 1.shadcn/uiFree React components you ownReact · Free
- 2.Untitled UI ReactThe closest Tailwind Plus replacementReact · Free, PRO $349 once
- 3.TailkitPlain Tailwind in HTML, React and VueHTML, React, Vue · From $79 once
- 4.FlowbiteEvery framework, with FigmaHTML, React, Vue, Svelte · Free, Pro $299 once
- 5.daisyUIFree, any stack, no JavaScriptAny framework · Free
- 6.Preline UIThe biggest free tierAny framework · Free, Pro €223 once
- 7.Shadcnblocks.comThe most shadcn/ui blocksReact · From $149 once
- 8.Tailgrids UIA full React kit for lessReact · Free, $199 once
- 9.Shadcn Studioshadcn/ui with a theme builderReact · Free, paid one-time
- 10.TailarkMarketing sites on Next.jsNext.js · Free, $249 once
- 11.HyperUIFree sections in plain HTMLHTML · Free
- 12.Headless UIAccessible primitives you styleReact, Vue · Free
- 13.FlyonUIdaisyUI style with JavaScriptAny framework · Free, Pro $129 once
CSS frameworks and engines other than Tailwind
- 1.UnoCSSUtility classes without TailwindAtomic CSS engine · Free
- 2.Panda CSSType-checked styles in TypeScriptBuild-time CSS-in-JS · Free
- 3.BootstrapReady components, huge ecosystemComponent framework · Free
- 4.BulmaComponents with no JavaScriptComponent framework · Free
- 5.UIkitRich components that keep shippingComponent framework · Free
What happened to Tailwind Plus
On September 9, 2026, Adam Wathan announced on the Tailwind blog that Tailwind Labs is joining Shopify. Two sentences of that post matter here. On the paid products: "All existing customers will of course maintain their access to products like Tailwind Plus and ui.sh, but we're closing sign ups for new customers to focus on Tailwind CSS at Shopify." On the framework: "Nothing changes with Tailwind CSS or any of our other open-source projects. Everything will always be MIT-licensed."
- Tailwind CSS stays free and maintained. Version 4.3.3 shipped on July 16, 2026.
- Tailwind Plus can no longer be bought: its page now opens a login form. Until then it sold "over 500+" component examples, site templates and the Catalyst React kit, in React, Vue and HTML, for $299 once (Personal) or $979 once (Teams, up to 25 people), with no Figma files.
- Headless UI and Heroicons, Tailwind Labs' free component and icon libraries, are still MIT-licensed. Headless UI powered the interactive parts of the Tailwind Plus React and Vue examples. Headless UI for React got a release in April 2026; the Vue package has had none since September 2024.
- If you already own Tailwind Plus, your access stays. The post also says the company will "no longer be trying to grow the business around Tailwind", so do not count on many new components.
Tailwind Plus alternatives compared
Every library below is built on Tailwind CSS, so you keep your classes and your build. They differ on what Tailwind Plus did well: the frameworks covered, the amount of ready-made sections, Figma files and a one-time price. Every cell was read on the library's own website, pricing page or GitHub repository on October 28, 2026; "Not stated" means we did not find it written, not that it is missing.
| Library | Frameworks | Price | Free tier | Figma | Size | Built on |
|---|
| Tailwind Plus (closed) | HTML, React, Vue | Was $299 once | No | No | 500+ examples | Headless UI, Elements |
| shadcn/ui | React | Free | Everything | Community only | 66 components | Base UI, Radix UI or React Aria |
| Untitled UI React | React | Free, PRO $349 once | Open-source components | Yes (free kit; sync in PRO) | 5,000+ components and sections (PRO) | React Aria |
| Tailkit | HTML, React, Vue | From $79 once | Free tools only | Not stated | 645+ components | Plain Tailwind CSS |
| Flowbite | HTML, React, Vue, Svelte | Free, Pro $299 once | Component library + Figma file | Yes (free; full kit paid) | 450+ sections in Pro | Tailwind CSS + vanilla JS |
| daisyUI | Any framework | Free | Whole library | Paid (from $49) | 68 components, 35 themes | Tailwind CSS plugin |
| Preline UI | Any framework | Free, Pro €223 once | Components, 220+ blocks, Figma | Yes (free) | 640+ free components | Tailwind CSS + JS plugins |
| Shadcnblocks.com | React | From $149 once | Basic blocks (login) | From $299 plan | 2,300+ blocks | shadcn/ui |
| Tailgrids UI | React | Free, $199 once | 100+ components | Team plan ($349) | 600+ blocks and components | Tailwind CSS |
| Shadcn Studio | React | Free, paid one-time | Community plan | Yes | 1,000+ blocks | shadcn/ui |
| Tailark | Next.js | Free, $249 once | Free kits | Not stated | Not stated | shadcn/ui |
| HyperUI | HTML | Free | Everything | Not stated | Hundreds of components | Plain Tailwind CSS |
| Headless UI | React, Vue | Free | Everything | No | 16 components (React) | Tailwind Labs |
| FlyonUI | Any framework | Free, Pro $129 once | Components + free blocks | Paid | 80+ components | Tailwind CSS + JS plugins |
Paid plans are one-time payments in US dollars unless stated otherwise (Preline sells in euros). Several of these vendors run launch or sale prices: check the pricing page before you buy.
The best Tailwind component libraries in detail
Ranked by how well each one replaces Tailwind Plus today: coverage of real page sections, the frameworks it serves, how actively it ships, and what it costs to get everything.
1. shadcn/ui
Accessible React components you add to your own codebase with a CLI, styled with Tailwind CSS. In its own words: "This is not a component library. It is how you build your component library."
The free default for React projects, and the base that Shadcnblocks.com, Shadcn Studio and Tailark build on. The docs list 66 components, with Tailwind v4 and React 19 supported, theming through CSS variables and eight styles. Since July 2026 new projects use Base UI under the hood, with Radix UI and React Aria as alternatives. Because the code is copied into your project, you own it, and updates are yours to pull.
Pros
- Free and MIT-licensed, over 126,000 stars on GitHub
- You own and edit the code of every component
- Tailwind v4, CSS variable theming, Base UI, Radix UI or React Aria
- Very active: CLI 4.23.0 released on October 27, 2026
Cons
- React only, no official Vue or Svelte version
- Components, not full page sections like Tailwind Plus had
- No official Figma kit (community files only)
- Frameworks
- React (Next.js, Vite, Astro, Laravel...)
- Size
- 66 components
- Price
- Free
- Figma
- Community only
Free React components you ownVery active
2. Untitled UI React
Open-source React components built with Tailwind CSS v4.3 and React Aria, copied with a CLI, plus a paid PRO library kept in sync with the Untitled UI Figma kit.
The closest like-for-like replacement for what Tailwind Plus sold: a large catalogue of finished sections and pages for a one-time price, with the Figma side Tailwind Plus never had. PRO counts over 5,000 components and sections and 250+ page examples. The free tier is the open-source MIT set; most of the catalogue and the Figma sync are in PRO.
Pros
- 5,000+ components and sections, 250+ page examples in PRO
- Built on React Aria for accessibility
- Code kept in sync with the Untitled UI Figma kit
- One payment, unlimited projects
Cons
- React only
- Highest entry price here: $349 for one user
- Most of the library is in the paid PRO tier
- Frameworks
- React
- Size
- 5,000+ components and sections (PRO)
- Price
- Free; PRO from $349 once (1 user)
- Figma
- Yes (free kit; sync in PRO)
The closest Tailwind Plus replacementActive
3. Tailkit
A library of plain Tailwind CSS components, templates, starter kits and tools from pixelcave, with every snippet in HTML, React 19, Vue 3 and Alpine.js 3.
The one that works most like Tailwind Plus did: plain Tailwind markup, no extra library, and one purchase that covers HTML, React and Vue. It counts 645+ components and 2,000+ code snippets, plus dashboard and marketing templates and starter kits for ten frameworks. Version 5.2 (October 21, 2026) dropped Tailwind v3 support, and an MCP server lets AI editors use the library in every plan.
Pros
- HTML, React, Vue and Alpine.js in one purchase
- 645+ components, 2,000+ snippets, 12 starter kits
- Tailwind v4 only since 5.2 (October 2026)
- Lifetime updates, from $79 once
Cons
- No free plan
- The $79 plan covers a single project ($199 for unlimited)
- No Figma kit mentioned
- Frameworks
- HTML, React, Vue, Alpine.js
- Size
- 645+ components
- Price
- $79 once (1 project); $199 unlimited
- Figma
- Not stated
Plain Tailwind in HTML, React and VueActive
4. Flowbite
An open-source library of Tailwind CSS components with vanilla JavaScript for interactive parts, ported to React, Vue, Svelte and Angular, plus a paid Pro tier of blocks, pages and Figma files.
The broadest framework coverage of the paid libraries, and one that compares itself to Tailwind UI in its own FAQ. The free MIT library covers the everyday components with dark mode and a free Figma file; Pro adds over 450 website sections and advanced components such as charts and a calendar. Pro is a one-time purchase with lifetime updates.
Pros
- HTML plus React, Vue, Svelte and Angular ports
- Free MIT library and a free Figma Community file
- Tailwind v4 compatible
- Pro: 450+ sections, one-time with lifetime updates
Cons
- Pro code is mostly HTML and React
- No commit on the main repository since June 2026
- Pro license forbids building themes or UI kits
- Frameworks
- HTML, React, Vue, Svelte, Angular
- Size
- 450+ sections in Pro
- Price
- Free; Pro from $299 once
- Figma
- Yes (free; full kit paid)
Every framework, with FigmaActive
5. daisyUI
A Tailwind CSS plugin that adds semantic component classes (btn, card, modal) in pure CSS, with 35 built-in themes and no JavaScript.
The free choice that works with any stack, from React to Rails, because it is only CSS. daisyUI 5 runs on Tailwind CSS 4 with one line in your stylesheet, lists 68 components and has no dependencies. Light and dark themes are on by default. The library is free; templates, a Figma library (from $49) and an MCP server called Blueprint are paid extras.
Pros
- Free and MIT-licensed, over 42,000 stars on GitHub
- Pure CSS: no JavaScript shipped, no dependencies
- 35 themes, dark mode on by default
- Works with any framework or plain HTML
Cons
- Interactive behaviour (focus trapping, comboboxes) is up to you
- Component classes instead of utility-only markup
- Figma library and templates are paid
- Frameworks
- Any (CSS only)
- Size
- 68 components, 35 themes
- Price
- Free; Figma library from $49
- Figma
- Paid (from $49)
Free, any stack, no JavaScriptVery active
6. Preline UI
An open-source Tailwind CSS component library with JavaScript plugins (advanced select, datepicker, modals with focus trapping) and integration guides for 24 frameworks, plus paid Pro blocks and templates.
The largest free tier on this page: 640+ free components and 220+ free blocks, with a free Figma design system. Its JavaScript plugins cover the interactive parts that pure-CSS kits leave to you. Version 5.0 (August 2026) moved to Tailwind CSS 4.3. Pro adds the full set of blocks and 21 templates for a one-time price in euros.
Pros
- 640+ free components and a free Figma design system
- Interactive JS plugins included
- Guides for 24 frameworks, from React to Laravel and Django
- Pro: €223 once, unlimited projects
Cons
- Pro license covers a single developer
- Its MCP server becomes a subscription after January 1, 2027
- Block counts differ between its own pages
- Frameworks
- HTML + 24 framework guides
- Size
- 640+ free components
- Price
- Free; Pro €223 once
- Figma
- Yes (free)
The biggest free tierActive
7. Shadcnblocks.com
A premium library of React blocks, components and templates built on shadcn/ui and Tailwind CSS, installed by copy-paste or the shadcn CLI.
The largest block catalogue for shadcn/ui: its pricing page counts 2,331+ Pro blocks, 2,154+ Pro components and 21 templates (Next.js 16 and Astro with Tailwind 4). Basic blocks are free with a login. The Pro plan is $149 once; the Figma kit and the admin kit start with Premium at $299.
Pros
- 2,300+ blocks for shadcn/ui
- Free basic blocks with an account
- shadcn CLI registry and MCP server
- One-time payment with lifetime updates
Cons
- React only (Vue is a separate site)
- Figma kit only from the $299 plan
- Plans are single user
- Frameworks
- React (Next.js, Vite, Astro)
- Size
- 2,300+ blocks
- Price
- Pro $149 once; Premium $299
- Figma
- From $299 plan
The most shadcn/ui blocksActive
8. Tailgrids UI
An open-source React component library built with Tailwind CSS, rebuilt in version 3, with paid blocks, templates and a Figma design system.
A complete React system at a lower price than most: 100+ free MIT components, a shadcn-style CLI (npx @tailgrids/cli init), and 600+ blocks and components in All-Access for $199 once. Light and dark themes are built into every component. The Figma file, with 900+ components, comes only with the $349 team plan.
Pros
- 100+ free components under MIT
- All-Access at $199 once
- Light and dark themes in every component
- CLI install like shadcn/ui
Cons
- React only since the v3 rebuild
- Figma only in the $349 team plan
- Tailwind version not stated
- Frameworks
- React
- Size
- 600+ blocks and components
- Price
- Free; All-Access $199 once
- Figma
- Team plan ($349)
A full React kit for lessActive
9. Shadcn Studio
A shadcn/ui ecosystem of free and paid copy-and-paste components, blocks, templates and illustrations, with an AI theme generator, a drag-and-drop builder and an MCP server.
The most tooling around shadcn/ui: besides 1,000+ blocks and 25+ templates, it has a theme generator, a page builder, a Figma kit with Figma-to-code, and options to send a block to v0 or an AI editor. A free Community plan is open source. Paid plans are one-time; the prices shown on its pages differ, so check before buying.
Pros
- Free, open-source Community plan
- AI theme generator and drag-and-drop builder
- Figma kit with Figma-to-code
- Team plan covers 15 seats
Cons
- React only
- Prices differ between its own pages
- Basic and Pro are single seat
- Frameworks
- React
- Size
- 1,000+ blocks
- Price
- Free; paid plans one-time
- Figma
- Yes
shadcn/ui with a theme builderActive
10. Tailark
A shadcn/ui registry of blocks, pages and illustrations for marketing websites, installed through the shadcn CLI in a Next.js app.
Focused on one job Tailwind Plus did well, marketing sites: landing, pricing, about, blog and legal pages. Free kits install from a public registry with no account, and every block comes in a Base UI and a Radix UI version. Paid plans start at $249 once.
Pros
- Built for marketing sites only
- Free kits with no account needed
- Base UI and Radix UI versions of every block
- One-time payment
Cons
- Next.js App Router only
- Paid plans start at $249
- No block count or Figma kit stated
- Frameworks
- Next.js
- Size
- Not stated
- Price
- Free; Essentials $249 once
- Figma
- Not stated
Marketing sites on Next.jsActive
11. HyperUI
A free collection of Tailwind CSS components for marketing sites, application screens and e-commerce, copied as plain HTML.
Free sections in plain HTML, the closest free thing to the marketing half of Tailwind Plus. The site has hundreds of components across Application, Marketing and Neobrutalism categories, many with dark variants, and there is nothing to install. It is static markup, so dropdowns and modals are yours to wire.
Pros
- Free and MIT-licensed
- Plain HTML, nothing to install
- Tailwind v4, dark variants on many components
- Updated regularly (last change October 2026)
Cons
- No JavaScript: interactive parts are not wired
- No React or Vue components
- Maintained by one person
- Frameworks
- HTML
- Size
- Hundreds of components
- Price
- Free
- Figma
- Not stated
Free sections in plain HTMLActive
12. Headless UI
Completely unstyled, accessible components (menus, dialogs, comboboxes, tabs) from Tailwind Labs, designed to be styled with Tailwind CSS.
The interactive layer Tailwind Plus itself used for its React and Vue examples, still free and MIT-licensed after the move to Shopify. You get behaviour and accessibility, and write every style yourself. The React version has 16 components and a 2026 release; the Vue version is still on v1 with 10.
Pros
- Free, MIT, made by Tailwind Labs
- Accessible behaviour without imposed styles
- Same primitives Tailwind Plus was built on
Cons
- Small set: no table, date picker or toast
- Vue package unchanged since September 2024
- No styles at all
- Frameworks
- React, Vue
- Size
- 16 components (React)
- Price
- Free
- Figma
- No
Accessible primitives you styleMaintained (React)
13. FlyonUI
An open-source Tailwind CSS library that pairs daisyUI-style semantic classes with JavaScript plugins for interactive components, plus paid blocks, templates and a Figma kit.
For teams who like daisyUI's short class names but need working dropdowns and modals out of the box. It lists 80+ components and 500+ free and Pro blocks, with themes and dark mode, on Tailwind CSS 4. Pro starts at $129 once. Its release pace is the catch: no release since September 2025.
Pros
- Semantic classes plus JS plugins
- 80+ components, 500+ free and Pro blocks
- Pro from $129 once, lifetime
- Works with HTML, React, Vue, Angular, Svelte
Cons
- No release since v2.4.1 (September 2025)
- Figma kit is paid
- Early-bird prices still rising
- Frameworks
- HTML, React, Vue, Angular, Svelte
- Size
- 80+ components
- Price
- Free; Pro from $129 once
- Figma
- Paid
daisyUI style with JavaScriptSlow (last release Sept 2025)
Alternatives to Tailwind CSS itself
If the problem is Tailwind CSS (long class strings in your markup, a build step, or a team that prefers ready components), these are the frameworks and engines still worth starting a project with. UnoCSS and Panda CSS keep atomic, utility-style CSS; Bootstrap, Bulma and UIkit give you finished components.
| Framework | Approach | Ships JavaScript | Latest version | GitHub stars |
|---|
| Tailwind CSS | Utility-first framework | No | 4.3.3 (Jul 2026) | 98,000+ |
| UnoCSS | Atomic CSS engine | No (build time) | 66.12.0 (Oct 2026) | 18,900+ |
| Panda CSS | Build-time CSS-in-JS | No runtime | 2.4.0 (Oct 2026) | 6,200+ |
| Bootstrap | Component framework | Yes | 5.3.8 (6.0 alpha Oct 2026) | 175,000+ |
| Bulma | Component framework | No | 1.0.4 (Apr 2025) | 50,000+ |
| UIkit | Component framework | Yes | 3.25.28 (Oct 2026) | 18,500+ |
Every framework in this table is free and MIT-licensed. Versions and dates come from each project's site, GitHub releases and npm, read on October 28, 2026.
1. UnoCSS
An instant, on-demand atomic CSS engine: the core has no opinion, and every utility comes from a preset, including Tailwind-compatible ones.
The way to keep utility classes without depending on Tailwind. Its preset-wind4 aims to be compatible with Tailwind 4, so existing markup mostly carries over, and you can add your own rules and shortcuts. It generates only the utilities you use and plugs into Vite, Nuxt, Astro, Webpack or PostCSS. Version 66.12.0 shipped on October 26, 2026.
Pros
- Tailwind 4 compatible preset
- Generates only the utilities you use
- Custom rules, shortcuts and variants
- Very active, MIT-licensed
Cons
- Not every Tailwind 4 key name matches exactly
- Fewer ready-made component kits than Tailwind
- Approach
- Atomic CSS engine
- Ships JavaScript
- No (build time)
- Latest version
- 66.12.0 (Oct 2026)
- GitHub stars
- 18,900+
Utility classes without TailwindFree & open source
2. Panda CSS
A type-safe CSS-in-JS styling engine from the Chakra UI team that generates plain atomic CSS at build time, with no style runtime in the browser.
For TypeScript teams who want styles checked by the compiler: properties and design tokens are typed, and recipes describe component variants. Styles are extracted at build time, so users download plain CSS. It works with React, Vue, Svelte, Solid, Qwik, Angular and more.
Pros
- Typed properties and design tokens
- Zero runtime: plain CSS at build time
- Recipes for component variants
- Works across many JS frameworks
Cons
- Values must be visible to static analysis
- Styles live in JavaScript files, not in class strings
- Approach
- Build-time CSS-in-JS
- Ships JavaScript
- No runtime
- Latest version
- 2.4.0 (Oct 2026)
- GitHub stars
- 6,200+
Type-checked styles in TypeScriptFree & open source
3. Bootstrap
The long-standing HTML, CSS and JavaScript framework for responsive, mobile-first sites, with ready components and a utility API.
The safe choice for finished components, and it is moving closer to Tailwind. Bootstrap 5.3.8 is the stable version; 6.0.0-alpha.1 (October 8, 2026) moves customization to CSS variables and switches responsive classes to prefixes such as md:d-none, which its own post calls "a direct copy of how Tailwind does responsive". The alpha also changes class names, so v5 markup will need updates.
Pros
- Ready components with JavaScript included
- Largest community: 175,000+ stars on GitHub
- Utility classes as well as components
- Version 6 moves theming to CSS variables
Cons
- Version 6 is alpha and renames classes
- Dropdowns, popovers and tooltips depend on Popper in v5
- Approach
- Component framework
- Ships JavaScript
- Yes
- Latest version
- 5.3.8 (6.0 alpha Oct 2026)
- GitHub stars
- 175,000+
Ready components, huge ecosystemFree & open source
4. Bulma
A free, open-source CSS framework of ready-to-use components based on Flexbox, with no JavaScript.
Readable class names and components in CSS only, so it fits any JavaScript setup. It is customized with Sass or CSS variables, has a dark theme that follows the user's preference, and lets you import only the parts you need. The trade-off: interactive parts such as the navbar burger or modals must be wired by hand, and the last release is from April 2025.
Pros
- CSS only, works with any JS stack
- Readable, semantic class names
- Dark theme, Sass and CSS variables
- Modular imports
Cons
- No JavaScript for interactive parts
- No release since April 2025
- Approach
- Component framework
- Ships JavaScript
- No
- Latest version
- 1.0.4 (Apr 2025)
- GitHub stars
- 50,000+
Components with no JavaScriptFree & open source
5. UIkit
A lightweight, modular front-end framework with CSS and JavaScript components, a built-in icon set and themes written in Less or SCSS.
A complete component framework that keeps shipping: version 3.25.28 came out on October 26, 2026. Its docs cover around 80 components, including sliders, lightboxes and sortable lists that most CSS frameworks leave to plugins, and it includes its own icons.
Pros
- Rich components: slider, lightbox, sortable
- Built-in icon library
- Less or SCSS sources for themes
- Regular releases
Cons
- Smaller community than Bootstrap (18,500 stars against 175,000)
- Its site states no license or component count (MIT on GitHub)
- Approach
- Component framework
- Ships JavaScript
- Yes
- Latest version
- 3.25.28 (Oct 2026)
- GitHub stars
- 18,500+
Rich components that keep shippingFree & open source
Frameworks we left out, and why
Older "Tailwind alternatives" lists still recommend these. We checked each one, and none is a safe choice for a new project in 2026:
- Pico CSS: its site now says "Pico CSS is no longer maintained". Version 2.1.1 (March 2025) is the final release, and the repository was archived in October 2026.
- MaterializeCSS: no release since 1.0.0 in September 2018. A community project, materializecss/materialize, still publishes new versions under another name.
- Semantic UI: no release since 2.5.0 in October 2022. Fomantic-UI, its community fork, is the maintained version.
- Halfmoon: now a theme layer on top of Bootstrap 5, with no release since September 2024.
- Windi CSS: its site now reads "Windi CSS is Sunsetting" and recommends new projects to consider alternatives.
Which Tailwind alternative fits you?
- You bought Tailwind Plus for React components: shadcn/ui for free, open code; Untitled UI React for the largest paid catalogue with a Figma kit in sync.
- You used Tailwind Plus in HTML or Vue: Tailkit (HTML, React, Vue and Alpine.js snippets in one purchase), Flowbite and Preline UI.
- You want no JavaScript at all: daisyUI for styled components, HyperUI for static HTML sections.
- You need marketing pages fast: Shadcnblocks.com for volume, Tailark if you build on Next.js.
- You want to own every style: Headless UI or shadcn/ui, both unstyled or copy-into-your-code.
- You want utility classes without Tailwind: UnoCSS, which can even read Tailwind 4 classes through its preset.
- You want type-checked styles in TypeScript: Panda CSS.
- You want ready components and no utility classes: Bootstrap, Bulma (no JavaScript) or UIkit.
How we picked these Tailwind alternatives
We started from the component libraries and CSS frameworks listed on Uneed, and added the free projects developers expect on this list (shadcn/ui, Headless UI, HyperUI, UnoCSS, Panda CSS). On October 28, 2026, we opened each one's website, pricing page, documentation, changelog, GitHub repository and npm package, and read the Tailwind blog post announcing the move to Shopify. We compared them on frameworks covered, size of the catalogue, Figma files, price model and release activity, and left out projects with no release in years. We did not build a test project with each one. Inclusion and ranking are editorial and not paid.
Our verdict: the best Tailwind alternative
If you came for a Tailwind Plus replacement and work in React, start with shadcn/ui: it is free, three of the block libraries on this page build on it, and you own the code. If you want what Tailwind Plus sold, finished sections and a matching Figma kit for a one-time price, Untitled UI React is the closest match. Outside React, Tailkit and Flowbite cover HTML and Vue, and daisyUI is the free pick that works with any stack. If you want to leave Tailwind CSS itself, UnoCSS keeps the utility-first model with less lock-in, and Bootstrap remains the safe choice for ready components, with version 6 now in alpha.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best alternative to Tailwind CSS?
It depends on what you are replacing. If you want ready-made components and keep Tailwind CSS, shadcn/ui (React, free) and daisyUI (any stack, free) are the most common picks. If you want to leave Tailwind CSS itself, UnoCSS keeps utility classes with a Tailwind 4 compatible preset, and Bootstrap is the most established framework of ready components.
Can I still buy Tailwind Plus or Tailwind UI?
No. On September 9, 2026, Tailwind Labs announced it is joining Shopify and closed sign ups for new customers of Tailwind Plus and ui.sh. Existing customers keep their access, and Tailwind CSS itself stays free and MIT-licensed. Tailwind UI was renamed Tailwind Plus in March 2025, so the two names mean the same product.
What is the best Tailwind Plus alternative?
For React, Untitled UI React is the closest match to what Tailwind Plus sold: 5,000+ components and sections, a Figma kit in sync and a one-time price from $349. For HTML and Vue, Tailkit sells every snippet in HTML, React, Vue and Alpine.js from $79 once, and Flowbite Pro covers HTML with React, Vue, Svelte and Angular ports.
What is the best free Tailwind component library?
shadcn/ui if you build with React: 66 free components you copy into your project. daisyUI if you want something framework-agnostic: 68 components and 35 themes in pure CSS. Preline UI has the largest free tier, with 640+ components and a free Figma design system, and HyperUI offers free sections in plain HTML.
Is Tailwind CSS still maintained after the Shopify deal?
Yes. The announcement says nothing changes for Tailwind CSS and its open-source projects, which stay MIT-licensed and maintained by the same team with Shopify's support. Version 4.3 shipped in May 2026 and 4.3.3 in July 2026.
Is Bootstrap a good alternative to Tailwind?
Yes, if you want finished components rather than utilities. Bootstrap 5.3 is stable, and the 6.0 alpha released on October 8, 2026 moves theming to CSS variables and adopts Tailwind-style responsive prefixes such as md:d-none. Expect class renames if you move a v5 project to v6.
Which Tailwind alternatives work without JavaScript?
daisyUI and HyperUI ship no JavaScript on top of Tailwind CSS, and Bulma is a CSS-only framework. UnoCSS and Panda CSS generate plain CSS at build time. In all of them, interactive parts like dropdowns or modals need your own scripts or native HTML elements.